Food Blogged by: Wollongong Central 27 Oct 2020

The Perfect Crispy Roast Potatoes


Roast potatoes are the perfect accompaniment for a traditional Christmas meal. Everyone loves them crispy on the outside, and soft and fluffy on the inside. Here’s how to do it and impress all your guests.
 
Ingredients
(serves 10-14)
3kg medium Sebago or Coliban potatoes
5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt
 
Method
• Preheat your oven to 200°C or 180C fan-forced.
• Peel your potatoes, cutting them into quarters or slightly smaller.
• Place potatoes into a saucepan of cold water, add a few decent pinches of sea salt and bring to the boil.
• After 15 minutes, when the potatoes start to look ‘rough’ around the edges, they are ready. You can check by testing with a skewer. If the potatoes are tender, but not soft, they are perfect.
• Drain the potatoes, then return them to the saucepan. Put on the lid, then get your shake on! Shake the saucepan until the potatoes look rough and fluffy. THIS is the secret step. The rougher the potatoes here, the crispier they’ll be when roasted.
• Get a large roasting pan and pour the oil over the bottom. Heat the pan in the oven for 10 minutes.
• Add potatoes to the pan, giving it a good toss so the potatoes get coated with the hot oil.
• Return to the oven, 30-40 mins, before turning the potatoes and browning off on the other side.
• Sprinkle with sea salt and serve hot from the oven. 

Nutrition Information 
Per Serve
Energy 889kJ (212kcal)
Protein 5.8g
Fat – total 7.7g / saturated 1.2g
Carbohydrate – total 26.8g / sugars 4.3g
Dietary fibre 4.8g
Sodium 37mg
Opening hours
Christmas Trading Hours
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Sun, 13 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Mon, 14 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 - 9am - 6pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 - 9am - 9pm
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 - 9am - 10pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 - 9am - 7pm
Thu, 24 Dec 2020 - 8am - 6pm
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 - Closed
Sat, 26 Dec 2020 - 8am - 6pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5pm
Mon, 28 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 - 9am - 5.30pm
Fri, 01 Jan 2021 - Closed
Sat, 02 Jan 2021 - 9am - 4pm
Sun, 03 Jan 2021 - 10am - 4pm
REGULAR TRADING HOURS
Mon - 9am - 5.30pm
Tue - 9am - 5.30pm
Wed - 9am - 5.30pm
Thu - 9am - 9pm
Fri - 9am - 5.30pm
Sat - 9am - 4pm
Sun - 10am - 4pm
Location
Wollongong Central
200 Crown Street
Wollongong NSW 2500
Phone: 02 4228 5999